What happened today?


Thank You Therapy Dogs
December 30, 2010, 3:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Click to play this Smilebox slideshow
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
This free picture slideshow generated with Smilebox

We are very lucky to have a group of therapy dogs visit our classroom. The dogs and their owners volunteer their time to allow my students to read to them. Being able to read to Annie, Maggie or Lily is a treat for every child. The dogs are the ultimate reading buddy! No matter how the child reads their reading buddy enjoys the attention. My struggling readers get the same kisses and nudges the “better” readers do. This is a huge confidence builder for every reader! There is no questioning or assessing how fluent the reader is…it is reading at its best! This is for pure enjoyment, which is a grade level expectation in the state of Michigan.

Reading should be an enjoyable experience, and these amazing therapy dogs and their wonderful owners make it the best part of the day. I am so grateful for the experience you allow my third graders to have. The effect you have had on my students is not something I can measure on a test , but I know that it has made a HUGE impact on my students! When I have a student that would hide under the table during reading workshop in September run up to me and beg to be the first to read…you have given that child something he will have for life…a love of reading!

You can see the joy in the faces of each child! We love to have you visit and we look forward to reading more books to you in 2011!  We are so grateful for the time you spend with us! It truly is priceless!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joan Young . Joan Young said: Love this idea and post by @kelalford https://alfordnews.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/thank-you-therapy-dogs/ […]

Pingback by Tweets that mention Thank You Therapy Dogs « What happened today? -- Topsy.com

I just wanted to write and say how much I enjoyed your article on therapy dogs. WOW! I’m a literacy coach in Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada and heard about your web site through Choice Literacy. I aspire to create a good blog!! Congratulations!!

Comment by Jan Niebergall

Thanks for your comment!

Comment by alford300




Leave a Reply

